You are not alone…

Sometimes you’re not as alone as you think you are.  During my time being Ma’s carer I’ve felt very much alone.  Each battle I’ve fought, either over her health or bureaucracy, has led me to believe I’m very much on my own.

Enter the Memory People (MP).

I discovered this closed group on Facebook after reading about them on somebody’s blog.

MP are an Alzheimer’s/dementia and memory impairment support group, with members who are patients, caregivers, family members, healthcare providers, and those who have lose their loved ones.  Rick Phelps founded MP after being diagnosed with Early Onset Alzheimer’s Disease in June 2010, at just the age of 57.

He realised there was a need for support for all those caught in the hell that dementia is, and created MP to be a place where people could share their stories and walk the journey together.  Rick’s Assistant and Executive Director of MP, Leeanne, works with Rick to support members of MP and on projects to bring awareness to dementia.  New members are made to feel welcome and encouraged to share their story.  MP is a large group (around 13,000 from around the world) but they treat you like family.  People share their stories and find support, helpful information, and most of all, you are made to feel you aren’t alone as you struggle along the journey of dementia.  They understand, care and will walk with you, each step of the way.

There is much love and understanding from MP.  They don’t talk about false hopes or miracle cures, they focus on the reality, and helping each other through each day.

When I joined MP I was greeted with open arms and made to feel so very welcome.  I read through people’s many posts and learned that there are still people out there that care.  My first post was to ask advice on Ma’s aversion to her bed. I received many responses of support and advice.  When I placed a photo of Ma holding her great grandchild I received, at last count, 260 likes along with around 30 lovely comments.

Some people’s stories are heart rending and not a day goes by without the report of the loss of another loved one to the dreaded disease called dementia.  This disease robs us of our loved one twice; once when they forget who we are and second when the disease finally claims them.

MP is a closed group, but welcome to anyone.  If you are in need of support, join us today. https://www.facebook.com/groups/180666768616259/

Leave a comment